Breathing space

breathing space

On Tuesday I had to wait at the doctor’s office for an hour before he could see me. Knowing this might be the case, I decided to bring some reading from home rather than browsing the celebrity magazines, which is ok (it helps one collect trivia for game shows). But I had started reading Pope Benedict’s latest document, the encyclical “Charity in Truth” or if you prefer the Latin: Caritas in Veritatae  and I got hooked.

The Pope lays out the Church’s social teaching in this document. At first this may sound intimidating but the language, the English, is remarkable: in places it is almost poetic.

I have been pondering this quote for two days and I thought I would share it with you:

“Without the perspective of eternal life, human progress in this world is denied breathing space.”

Breathing space. Without the thought of heaven as the end game, human progress will have nowhere to expand, to develop, grow.

This made me think of the Amazon forests, the lungs of the world, hundreds of square miles of the earth’s lungs being destroyed ever week for profit, not progress. Breathing space.

The overcrowded slums of the world. Breathing space.

We need the thought of heaven to motivate us to do the right thing.

Breathing space.

Just breathe.

Breathing space is grace. When we take the time to just breathe, we open ourselves to inspiration. To do the right thing.

One Response

  1. A lovely meditation on a beautiful sentence. The more I read Benedict the more I see the poet-philosopher in him.

Leave a Reply

